Semantic assets and the agreements associated with them are essential elements for organisations to understand the meaning of the information they exchange -- without them this information would be of little use. In order to facilitate the access of public administrations in Europe to reusable semantic assets, the Interoperability Solutions for European Public Administrations Programme of the European Commission (ISA Programme) has been running for the last 3 years an action on syndicating content from different semantic asset repositories and making it available through a single point of access. In this paper we present the current state of the federation of semantic asset repositories on Joinup, namely a set of online collections of semantic assets maintained by public administrations, standardisation organisations and businesses, which currently counts more than 1500 semantic assets from 21 partner organisations, described using the Asset Description Metadata Schema (ADMS).

Author information

Nikolaos Loutas
PwC EU Services, BE
Stijn Goedertier
PwC EU Services, BE
João Rodrigues Frade
PwC EU Services, BE
Christophe Colas
PwC EU Services, BE
Michiel De Keyzer
PwC EU Services, BE
Debora Di Giacomo
PwC EU Services, BE
Makx Dekkers
AMI Consult, LU
Vassilios Peristeras
EC, DG for Informatics, Interoperability Solutions for European Public Administrations, BE

Cite this article

Loutas, N., Goedertier, S., Rodrigues Frade, J., Colas, C., De Keyzer, M., Di Giacomo, D., Dekkers, M., & Peristeras, V. (2013). Realising a Federation of Repositories of Reusable Metadata. International Conference on Dublin Core and Metadata Applications, 2013. https://doi.org/10.23106/dcmi.952136289

DOI : 10.23106/dcmi.952136289

CC-0 Logo Metadata and citations of this article is published under the Creative Commons Zero Universal Public Domain Dedication (CC0), allowing unrestricted reuse. Anyone can freely use the metadata from DCPapers articles for any purpose without limitations.
CC-BY Logo This article full-text is published under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). This license allows use, sharing, adaptation, distribution, and reproduction in any medium or format, provided that appropriate credit is given to the original author(s) and the source is cited.